My mom, aunt, and uncle are in beautiful Buenos Aires visiting for the week/10 days, and along with a brand new month-long intensive work plan with Asociacion Para Politicas Publicas, I expect to be a busy daughter/niece/peace fellow in between cafe con leches and monumental desires.
I heart Obelisko, BA

I heart Obelisko, BA

I hope to keep all of my new and recent subscribers, regulars, and semis interested with some new photo tours.  This one will highlight  one of the things I love that Buenos Aires is well-known for — street art!
Beleza
BA Beleza
BA Street Art - Beleza2
Buenos Aires is by any measure a creative, arts-inviting, arts-producing, imaginative city.  The people who live and breathe this city each day, year after year, emulate creativity and express it through visual arts, crafts, fashion, music, dance, hairstyles, piercings, you name it.
The model is not (cannot be?) touched

The model is not (cannot be?) touched

Street art, murals, stencils, graffitti, tags, political and personal writings, are just some of the examples of the public forms of artistic expression one can expect to see while strolling through this remarkable city.
Reflection, on...

Reflection, on...

Working on a piece on Sunday afternoon

Sunday afternoon

In the U.S. there seems to be more of a divide between street artists (and aficionados) and those who consider it vandalism.  In B.s.A.s. there seems to be a much higher level of appreciation, if not tolerance, for this form of expression.  And not just because, as some in the States would say, the police don’t  choose to enforce it.

Public space is for everyone

Public space is for everyone

Stencil arts, a much smaller niche and sometimes even separate form of street art in the U.S., are particularly prevalent in BA, to the point where some double as actual commercial advertisements.

Snoop Dogg's Fatherhood every Wednesday

Snoop Dogg's Fatherhood every Wednesday

While studying in Quito, Ecuador in 2003 I grew especially fond of the political and personal literary phrases.  One of my favorite quotes was from la calle Mañosca and read “submergido en un sueño profundo, me levanto sin tu amor”.

There is less overtly political and personal writings here in BA, although just this morning I saw on the street pavement outside my my door, written in huge, permanent letters, “Gordi, te quiero mucho! y no me alcanza”.  Awwww! Nevertheless, there is plenty of street, sidewalk, and building space for lots of beautiful, funny, creative, and occasionally very strange bits of Buenos Aires street art as asi es la vida artistica desde Buenos Aires, Argentina.

Mural, signed "Kuwait"

Mural, signed "Kuwait"

Juice cows!

Juice cows!

Look a little bit closer
Uncaptionable Laughter
